Certain chapters are not available at the moment. Thank you for your understanding.

This live webcast is no longer available. Thank you for your understanding.


The Takács Quartet performs Haydn, Beethoven and Mendelssohn

The Takács Quartet performs Haydn, Beethoven and Mendelssohn


Musée du Louvre: Henri Loyette, president director; Monique Devaux, artistic director for concerts.

The concert is recorded by France Musique

J. Haydn, String Quartet in D Major, Hob. III. 70

Joseph Haydn's String Quartet opus 71 No. 2, also known in the Hoboken catalog as Hoboken III. 70, was composed in 1793. Its composition took place in Vienna between Haydn's two London trips. Joseph Haydn clearly dedicated the Quartets of this opus to the London audience. The Quartet opus 71 No. 2 is built around four movements. The first movement is an Adagio – Allegro in D Major which starts off as a very slow introduction (the Adagio is only four measures long), probably the only one written by Haydn. This introduction is then followed by an Allegro where we can hear a play between the octaves as it repeated by the four instruments starting from the lowest and ending with the highest-pitched instrument. The second movement is an Adagio cantabile in A Major that is frequently modulated. The third movement is Menuetto (Allegro) which is considered to be the ancestor of Beethoven's Scherzo of the Second Symphony. Finally the Quartet ends with a virtuoso Allegretto finale which takes the shape of a Lied. Its brilliance, vigorousness and its orchestral sonorities make this Quartet an unusual piece of Haydn's work.

Read more


  • Joseph Haydn, String Quartet in D Major, Op. 71 No. 2
    • 1. Adagio - Allegro en ré majeur
    • 2. Adagio cantabile en la majeur
    • 3. Menuetto (allegro)
    • 4. Allegretto
  • Ludwig van Beethoven, String Quartet in F Major, Op. 135
    • 1. Allegretto
    • 2. Vivace
    • 3. Lento assai, e cantabile e tranquillo
    • 4. Allegretto
  • Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, String Quartet in A Minor, Op. 13
    • 1. Adagio – Allegro vivace
    • 2. Adagio non lento
    • 3. Intermezzo
    • 4. Presto – Adagio non lento


  • Directed by:
    • Christian Leblé
  • Venue: Louvre Auditorium (Paris, France)
  • Broadcast date: May 18, 2011, 8 p.m.
  • Production date: 2011
  • Recording date: 18/05/2011
  • Production: © Musée du Louvre / Museec

Associated event


You might also like