Certain chapters are not available at the moment. Thank you for your understanding.

This live webcast is no longer available. Thank you for your understanding.


Paul Meyer and the Jerusalem Quartet

A Mozart and Brahms Concert

Paul Meyer and the Jerusalem Quartet A Mozart and Brahms Concert


Musée du Louvre: Henri Loyette, president director; Monique Devaux, artistic director for the concerts.

Mozart, Forth string quartet in C Major, K 157

Third in a series of quartets called "Milanese," the quartet in C Major K 157 was written during Mozart and his father's second trip to Italy in the winter of 1772-1773. Burdened by a very heavy schedule, the sixteen year old composer found in the composition of these works much more than a hobby, it is instead became a refuge from the pestering demands of opera singers always waiting for new arias. Prompted only by interest and no exterior constraints, the work done on these quartets enabled Mozart to hone his skills: the mastering of instrumental music forms and the assertion of his personal style. Witness to this evolution is the quartet's initial Allegro whose simple joy of the first theme is darkened by the frequent Minor modulations and preludes to Mozart's later typical combination of felicity and grief. The Andante in C Minor carries a somewhat artificial gravity whereas the final Presto, with its syncopated rhythm, irresistibly conveys an atmosphere of opera-buffa.

Read more


  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, String Quartet in C Major, K. 157
    • 1. Allegro
    • 2. Andante
    • 3. Presto
  • Johannes Brahms, Clarinet Quintet in B Minor, Op. 115
    • 1. Allegro
    • 2. Adagio
    • 3. Andantino. Presto non assai ma con sentimento
    • 4. Con moto


  • Directed by:
    • Jean-Pierre Loisil
  • Venue: Louvre Auditorium (Paris, France)
  • Broadcast date: Feb. 11, 2011, 7 p.m.
  • Production date: 2011
  • Duration: 56 min

Associated event


You might also like