Certain chapters are not available at the moment. Thank you for your understanding.


Verbier Festival celebrates Martha Argerich

Verbier Festival 2011

Verbier Festival celebrates Martha Argerich Verbier Festival 2011


A muse and a master of music, Martha Argerich is a regular of the Verbier Festival. For the 2011 edition she performed among others with the legendary violinist Ivry Gitlis.

She performed the Sonata No. 8 for violin and piano by Beethoven with Renaud Capuçon and the Fantasiestücke by Schumann with his brother Gautier. Two very contrasting works for this programme, that combined the rigorous Classicism of Beethoven's Sonata with Schumann's Romantic work.

Memorable duos with the master of violin Ivry Gitlis followed. Khatia Buniatishvili, Yuja Wang and Martha Argerich played with him the Sicilienne by Von Paradis, Tchaikovsky'sMelody for violin and piano, then Schön Rosmarin and Liebesleid by Fritz Kreisler.

The peak of the concert was attained with Nelson Goerner and Martha Argerich performing La Valse by Ravel arranged for two pianos.


  • Ludwig van Beethoven, Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 8 in G Major, Op. 30 No. 3
    • 1. Allegro assai
    • 2. Tempo di minuetto
    • 3. Allegro vivace
  • Maria Theresa von Paradis, Sicilienne
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Melody
  • Fritz Kreisler, Schön Rosemarin
  • Fritz Kreisler, Liebesleid
  • Robert Schumann, Fantasiestücke for Cello and Piano, Op. 73
    • 1. Zart und mit Ausdruck
    • 2. Lebhaft, leicht
    • 3. Rasch und mit Feuer
  • Maurice Ravel, La Valse


  • Directed by:
    • Isabelle Soulard
    • Sébastien Glas
  • Venue: Salle des Combins (Verbier, Switzerland)
  • Production date: 2011
  • Duration: 57 min
  • Production: © Idéale Audience – Museec
  • Available version(s): EN

Associated event


You might also like