Certain chapters are not available. Thank you for your understanding.

This live webcast is no longer available; this is an excerpt.


Leonidas Kavakos and Nikolai Lugansky

Janáček, Brahms and Respighi

Leonidas Kavakos and Nikolai Lugansky Janáček, Brahms and Respighi


The Verbier Festival brings together violinist Leonidas Kavakos and pianist Nikolai Lugansky: watch them play together for the first time live on medici.tv.

The two world-renowned soloists will perform chamber duets from the 20th century (Janáček, Respighi), as well as the first sonata for violin and cello by the Romantic composer Johannes Brahms.

medici.tv members have the privilege to watch those two wonderful musicians play together, before Leonidas Kavakos' concert with the Verbier Festival Orchestra (closing concert of the Verbier Festival, broadcast live on medici.tv on August 5), and Nikolai Lugansky's recital at the Annecy Classic Festival (August 23, live on medici.tv!).


  • Leoš Janáček, Sonata for Violin and Piano, JW VII/7
    • Con moto
    • Ballada
    • Allegretto
    • Adagio
  • Johannes Brahms, Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 1 in G Major, Op. 78
    • Vivace ma non troppo
    • Adagio
    • Allegro molto moderato
  • Ottorino Respighi, Sonata for Violin and Piano in B Minor, P. 110
    • 1. Moderato
    • 2. Andante espressivo
    • 3. Passacaglia
  • Max Reger, Wiegenlied


  • Directed by:
    • Isabelle Soulard
  • Venue: Verbier Church (Verbier, Switzerland)
  • Broadcast date: Aug. 3, 2012, 8 p.m.
  • Production date: 2012
  • sponsor

Associated event


Want to watch the full video?

You might also like