Certain chapters are not available. Thank you for your understanding.

This live webcast is no longer available; this is an excerpt.


Henri Demarquette, Charles Dutoit and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Kodály, Saint-Saëns, Respighi, Debussy

Henri Demarquette, Charles Dutoit and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Kodály, Saint-Saëns, Respighi, Debussy


The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and Charles Dutoit gather together at the Annecy Classic Festival for a second concert, to watch live on medici.tv. They welcome as guest soloist the French cellist Henri Demarquette.

Charles Dutoit is the Artistic Director of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra since 2009, and opens this concert with Dances of Galánta by the Hungarian composer Zoltán Kodály. A close friend of Bartók, Kodály traveled with him around Hungary, Romania and Transylvania. Fascinated by the folk heritage of Central Europe, the ethnomusicologist drew his inspiration from these traditions to compose the five wild dances.

The orchestra will then be joined by the French cellist Henri Demarquette to perform the sensuous and stormy Cello Concerto No. 1 by Saint-Saëns.

In the second part of the concert, you will enjoy Charles Dutoit and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in two masterpieces of impressionist music, with Fontane di Roma by Ottorino Respighi and La Mer by Claude Debussy... on the day of Debussy's 150th birthday!


  • Zoltán Kodály, Dances of Galánta
    • Lento maestoso
    • Allegretto moderato
    • Allegro con moto
    • Allegro vivace
  • Camille Saint-Saëns, Cello Concerto No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 33
    • 1. Allegro non troppo
    • 2. Allegretto con moto
    • 3. Tempo primo
  • Johann Sebastian Bach, Cello Suite No. 5 in C Minor, BWV 1011
    • 4. Sarabande
  • Ottorino Respighi, Fontane di Roma
    • La fontana di Valle Giulia all'alba
    • La fontana del Tritone al mattino
    • La fontana di Trevi al meriggio
    • La fontana di Villa Medici al tramonto
  • Claude Debussy, La Mer, trois esquisses symphoniques pour orchestre
    • 1. From dawn to noon on the sea
    • 2. Play of the waves
    • 3. Dialogue of the wind and the sea
  • Georges Bizet, L'Arlésienne, suite for Orchestra No. 1
    • 1. Prelude


  • Directed by:
    • Jean-Pierre Loisil
  • Venue: Sainte-Bernadette Church (Annecy, France)
  • Broadcast date: Aug. 22, 2012, 9 p.m.
  • Production date: 2012

Associated event


  • Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Charles Dutoit | Conductor
  • Henri Demarquette | Cellist
Want to watch the full video?

You might also like