Certain chapters are not available. Thank you for your understanding.

This live webcast is no longer available; this is an excerpt.


Giovanni Sollima: Portrait of an Italian

Giovanni Sollima: Portrait of an Italian


Second webcast of the season for Manchester Camerata: the orchestra invites the internationally-renowned Italian cellist and composer Giovanni Sollima as guest director and soloist.

A performer quite unlike any other, Giovanni Sollima has a rock musician's energy and directness of communication, and a musicality that sits happily across many genres.

Put together around his personality, this programme, blending the traditional and the more modern, features two of his own works, the lyrical Violoncelles Vibrez! for two cello soloists and strings, and LB Files, a mini dramatisation of the life of Luigi Boccherini, a work that embraces jazz, world, contemporary and rock all in one. This programme also features original works by Respighi and Boccherini.


  • Ottorino Respighi, Antiche danze e arie, Suite No. 3
  • Luigi Boccherini, Cello Concerto No. 7 in G Major, G 480
    • 1. Allegro
    • 2. Adagio
    • 3. Allegro
  • Giovanni Sollima, Violoncelles, Vibrez!
  • Luigi Boccherini, La Musica Notturna Delle Strade di Madrid
  • Giovanni Sollima, LB Files
  • Leonard Cohen / Giovanni Sollima, Hallelujah
  • Carlo Alfredo Piatti, Tema con variazioni
  • Giovanni Sollima, LB Files
    • Second movement


  • Venue: RNCM Concert Hall (Manchester, Great Britain)
  • Broadcast date: Nov. 18, 2011, 8:30 p.m.
  • Production date: 2011


Want to watch the full video?

You might also like