Certain chapters are not available. Thank you for your understanding.

This live webcast is no longer available; this is an excerpt.


Daniel Harding and Lars Vogt perform Brahms

Filarmonica della Scala

Daniel Harding and Lars Vogt perform Brahms Filarmonica della Scala


Watch the other part of the concert: Daniel Harding conducts The Rite of Spring.

Several albums by Lars Vogt have been dedicated to Johannes Brahms, and all of them won international acclaim and prizes. For this concert, the pianist performs the Romantic composer's first piano concerto, which was written in Brahms' early years (he was in his twenties). It is his first symphonic score, and Brahms was encouraged for this project by his friend and mentor Robert Schumann. One of this piece's characteristic is the importance of the piano part. And for one good reason: the composer used to feel comfortable when it came to writing for this instrument.

Daniel Harding is a regular guest of the Filarmonica della Scala. Last year, medici.tv webcast his Strauss programme live from the same Teatro alla Scala.


  • Johannes Brahms, Piano Concerto No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 15
    • 1. Maestoso - Poco piu moderato
    • 2. Adagio
    • 3. Rondo : Allegro ma non troppo - Piu animato - Tempo I
  • Johannes Brahms, 16 Waltzes, Op. 39
    • No. 15 in A flat major


  • Venue: Teatro alla Scala (Milan, Italy)
  • Broadcast date: Feb. 6, 2012, 8 p.m.
  • Production date: 2012
  • Production: A Musicom.it production, in partnership with the Filarmonica della Scala


  • Pietro Tagliaferri | Movie director
  • Claudio Asquini | Assistant director
  • Carlo Assalini | Sound engineer

You might also like