Certain chapters are not available at the moment. Thank you for your understanding.


Christa Ludwig sings Schubert, Mahler, Bernstein, Wolf, and R. Strauss

With Charles Spencer (piano)

Christa Ludwig sings Schubert, Mahler, Bernstein, Wolf, and R. Strauss With Charles Spencer (piano)


Watch Christa Ludwig sing Lieder by her favourite composers, accompanied by pianist Charles Spencer, filmed during her farewell tour in 1994.

Knowned for her perfectly homogeneous tone of voice even at the end of her career, Christa Ludwig has impressed the operatic stage during almost 48 years before her retirement in 1994. She is widely recognised as one of the most significant and distinguished singers of the 20th century. In 2010, to honour her long and brilliant career, she received the prestigious title of Commander of the Legion of Honour.

Read more


  • Franz Schubert, Geheimnis, D.491
  • Franz Schubert, Im Abendrot, D.799
  • Franz Schubert, Die Forelle (The Trout), D. 550
  • Franz Schubert, Der Tod und das Mädchen, Op. 7, No. 3, D.531
  • Franz Schubert, Sehnsucht, D.516
  • Franz Schubert, Der Musensohn, D.764
  • Gustav Mahler, Ich ging mit Lust durch einen grünen Wald
  • Gustav Mahler, Rheinlegendchen
  • Gustav Mahler, Das irdische Leben
  • Gustav Mahler, Rückert-Lieder
    • 3. Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen
  • Gustav Mahler, Vierzehn Lieder und Gesänge. Aus der Jugenzeit
    • 5. Scheiden und Meiden
  • Leonard Bernstein, I Hate Music
  • Hugo Wolf, Goethe-Lieder
    • 29. Anakreons Grab
  • Hugo Wolf, Der Gärtner
  • Hugo Wolf, In dem Schatten meiner Locken
  • Hugo Wolf, Mein Liebster hat zu Tische mich geladen
  • Hugo Wolf, Teil I
    • 11. Wie lange schon war immer mein Verlangen
  • Richard Strauss, Schlichte Weisen, Op. 21
    • 2. Du meines Herzens Krönelein
  • Richard Strauss, Begegnung, TrV98
  • Richard Strauss, Die Nacht, Op. 10, No. 3
  • Richard Strauss, Morgen, Op. 27 No. 4


  • Directed by: Enrique Sánchez-Lansch
  • Venue: Volkstheater Wien (Vienna, Austria)
  • Production date: 1994
  • Duration: 1 h 09 min
  • Production: © O.M.M.A
  • Available version(s): EN


Appears in

You might also like