Certain chapters are not available at the moment. Thank you for your understanding.


Tchaikovsky Ballet Masterpieces

Tchaikovsky – Margot Fonteyn, Michael Somes

Tchaikovsky Ballet Masterpieces Tchaikovsky – Margot Fonteyn, Michael Somes


Margot Fonteyn ranks prominent among the most venerated ballerinas of the 20th century. This programme brings her to life thanks to exceptional archive material, in which she appears with Michael Somes in the three great Tchaikovsky ballets.

The selections on this programme demonstrate the key elements of the Fonteyn/Somes partnership, most notably in the selections from Swan Lake and Sleeping Beauty. The inspired choreography of the Act 2 pas de deux from Swan Lake is a veritable love duet as performed by these dancers. Fonteyn's Odette is all fluttering vulnerability with Somes as an ardent, caring protector. All the more jolting is Fonteyn's transformation into the alluring Odile of Act 3! She may lack the suggestive malevolence of Plisetskaya's Odile, but her cool seductiveness is light years away from her fragile Odette. Somes is perfect as her Beguiled and bewildered prey.

Read more


  • Marius Petipa / Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Sleeping Beauty
  • Rudolf Nureyev / Marius Petipa / Lev Ivanov / Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Swan lake
  • Lev Ivanov / Peter Wright / Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, The Nutcracker


  • Production date: 2011
  • Recording date: 20/12/1959, 09/06/1954, 21/12/1958
  • Duration: 1 h 12 min
  • Production: © BBC, under licence to International Classical Artists Ltd
  • Available version(s): EN


  • Margot Fonteyn
  • Michael Somes

Appears in

You might also like