Ysaÿe Quartet

Guillaume Sutre (violin)
Luc-Marie Aguera (violin)
Miguel da Silva (viola)
Yovan Markovitch (cello)

Named after the violinist, quartet member, and composer Eugène Ysaÿe (1858-1931), the Ysaÿe Quartet is made up of four members who share the same taste for large repertoires – a taste which also characterized the quartet's spiritual father. Born at the Paris Conservatoire, the quartet now plays a repertoire ranging from the baroque to the contemporary periods.

Since its foundation, in 1984, the quartet has performed on the most prestigious stages around the world: at the Musikverein and the Konzerthaus in Vienna, at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, the Wigmore Hall in London, at the Carnegie Hall in New York, at the Berliner Philharmonie, at the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées and at the Cité de la musique in Paris, Tokyo and Sydney, as well as in other cities in France and abroad.

The activities of the quartet also include teaching, notably at the Paris Conservatoire, and abroad, where the group regularly gives master classes.

Upper right picture : © Gérard Rondeau. Central picture : © Gérard Rondeau.

Ysaÿe Quartet on medici.tv

Ysaÿe Quartet: Schumann, Rihm, Beethoven
Cité de la musique / Salle Pleyel
Jan. 21, 2012, 10 a.m.
Watch an excerpt