An event presented by

Waldbühne 2012: Andris Nelsons and Daishin Kashimoto perform Tchaikovsky
Berliner Philharmoniker

Symphonic Delight live from Berlin: Andris Nelsons conducts the Berlin Philharmonic in an all-Tchaikovsky program!

Under the baton of the young Latvian conductor Andris Nelsons, together with the 1st concertmaster Daishin Kashimoto as a soloist, the great Berliner Philharmoniker musically focused on Tchaikovsky. Along with Tchaikovsky’s stirring Symphony No. 5, the program included beguiling shorter works featuring violinist Daishin Kashimoto – the Sérénade mélancolique in B flat minor, Waltz-Scherzo in C major and Souvenir d'un lieu cher.

The charismatic conductor Nelsons has been Music Director of the City of the Birmingham Symphony Orchestra since 2008, enjoying a critically acclaimed first few seasons. Over the next seasons he will continue collaborations with the Berliner Philharmoniker, Wiener Philharmoniker, Het Koninklijk Concertgebouworkest, New York Philharmonic, and others.

Linked event :

Broadcast date : June 24, 2012, 6:15 p.m.

Movie director : Henning Kasten
Playlist : Waldbühne Berlin

Location : Berlin Waldbühne (Berlin, Germany)
Production : © EuroArts Music, in co-production with RBB/ARD