Robert Schumann, Inner Voices

Chamber Music Collection

Schumann's chamber music repertoire: a biographical key.

Through the chamber music of Robert Schumann, we are offered a glimpse into the life of the composer. Movements drawn from his Quartet no. 3 in A Major and Quartet no. 1 in A Minor, set the stage for the development of a lavish fresco, freely inspired by the life of Schumann. Dancers and actors move to an original choreography within an imaginary setting. Each movement is preceded by a short documentary vignette depicting highlights in the composer's life.

Robert Schumann

St Lawrence String Quartet

Movie director : Tim Southam
Musical period : Romantic music

Duration : 52 min
Production date : 2003
Production : © Ciné Qua Non Films
Available version(s) : EN

Comments on Robert Schumann, Inner Voices :