Mozart by Zukerman

With the English Chamber Orchestra

Christopher Nupen meets one of the most recognized violinist of present days: Pinchas Zukerman. On his 1973 European tour, the Israeli violinist stops in Munich to give his first concert in the town as both soloist and conductor.

This concert with the English Chamber Orchestra features early works from Mozart, composed two hundred years earlier, approximately between 1774 and 1775. The Violin concerto No. 4 shows Mozart's lively interest for the instrument at the time: in 1775 only, he composed five of them! Hermann Abert, in his biography of Mozart, classified the Symphony in A Major K. 201 as a landmark in the composer's orchestra work: it departs from the "Italians' pleasantly conversational tone" and Mozart finds here a more personal expression. "There is a remarkable, often passionate energy that never loses sight of its goal and that ultimately achieves that goal in genuinely Mozartian ways with all manner of poetic surprises."

English Chamber Orchestra
Pinchas Zukerman

Movie director : Christopher Nupen
Musical period : Classical music
Music genre : Orchestral music

Duration : 59 min
Production date : 1973
Production : © Allegro Film
Available version(s) : EN

Comments on Mozart by Zukerman :