Maurice Ravel, The Automaton and the Magic Spell
Chamber Music Collection

The Automaton and the Magic Spell introduces us to the world of Maurice Ravel through one of his most lovely works, String Quartet in F major, performed on screen by the Canadian ensemble Quatuor Arthur Leblanc.

This film presents a series of four dance segments interspersed with documentary vignettes. The choreographies correspond to the four movements comprising the work and re-create key elements of the French composer’s life. Drawing on archival documents, the vignettes offer a brief biography of Ravel.

Maurice Ravel

Quatuor Arthur Leblanc music

Movie director : Raymond Saint-Jean

Duration : 52 min
Production date : 2001
Production : © Ciné Qua Non Films
Available version(s) : EN