This concert is presented by

Kent Nagano conducts Dubugnon, Prokofiev, Tsfasman and Stravinsky - With Janine Jansen and Mikhail Pletnev
Verbier Festival Orchestra

Kent Nagano conducts the Verbier Festival's closing concert live on!

After's webcast of Kent Nagano's concert with the Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal, of which he is the music director, the conductor is back to the Verbier Festival where he performed for the first time in 1994! This programme features a panel of modern to contemporary works by Richard Dubugnon (whose Symphony "Helvetia" is performed as a world premiere), Prokofiev, Tsfasman and Stravinsky.

For the Prokofiev Second violin concerto, the orchestra is joined by the stunning Janine Jansen, playing live for the third time this year from the Verbier Festival!

The Verbier Festival Orchestra also plays Alexander Tsfasman's Suite for piano and orchestra with the great Mikail Pletnev. A relatively unknown musician, Tsfasman was a Russian jazzman whose work as a composer flourished during the years 1930s to 1960s in the Soviet Union.

This concert, which closes the 20th edition of the Verbier Festival, celebrates another birthday at the same time: the 100th anniversary of Stravinsky's Rite of Spring, which caused a scandal after its world premiere in 1913 at the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées in Paris.

© Picture: Nicolas Brodard.

Janine Jansen appears courtesy of Decca.
Mikhail Pletnev appears courtesy of Deutsche Grammophon.


Linked event :

Broadcast date : Aug. 4, 2013, 5 p.m.

Movie director : Anaïs Spiro

Location : Salle des Combins (Verbier, Switzerland)
Production : Idéale Audience - MUSEEC/