Pinchas Zukerman and Marc Neikrug play Brahms: The Violin and piano Sonatas, Op. 120 Nos. 1 & 2
Johannes Brahms (1833-1897): The violin and viola sonatas (III/III)

A magnificent performance of the Sonatas for violin and alto Op. 120 N° 1 and 2, introduced by a presentation by Christopher Nupen.

While Brahms had decided to put an end to his career of "serious" composer with the Quintet in G major Op. 111, he changed his mind and composed the clarinet trio and quintet. He would later compose the clarinet sonata, which he simultaneously arranges for the viola.

This documentary narrates the events that brought Brahms to the composition of this sonata, relying on archive photographs and biographical details on the great composer who was already on the brinks of 20th century composition techniques. Following this introduction, Pinchas Zukerman (viola and violin) and Mark Neikrug (piano) play the integrality of Brahms’ Sonatas for violin and viola Op. 120.

Pinchas Zukerman viola
Marc Neikrug piano

Movie director : Christopher Nupen

Duration : 57 min
Production date : 1983
Production : © Bameridian Inc
Available version(s) : EN