Franz Schubert, The Shadow of Death

Chamber Music Collection

The greatest chamber music masterpieces by Franz Schubert: a story of the composer's life.

In this film, we are introduced to the world of Franz Schubert through a series of documentary vignettes shot, for the most part, in Austria. These vignettes are interspersed with musical movements drawn from two of the composer's quartets (Death and the Maiden and Rosamund) and two of his lieder (The Erl King and Serenade).These movements provide the score for a series of choreographed segments featuring costumed dancers and actors moving about in an imaginary setting.

Franz Schubert

Pražák Quartet

Étienne Dupuis baritone
Kinza Tyrel piano

Movie director : Raymond Saint-Jean
Musical period : Romantic music

Duration : 52 min
Production date : 2003
Production : © Ciné Qua Non Media
Available version(s) : EN

Comments on Franz Schubert, The Shadow of Death :