This programme is not available in your country(United States). Thank you for your understanding.

Felix Mendelssohn, Requiem for Fanny

Around Felix Mendelssohn's String Quartet No. 2 in A minor, Op. 13

Based on the life of German composer Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, Requiem for Fanny illustrates his String Quartet no.2.

Moving gracefully among the musicians and period decor, actors and dancers recreate the refined world of the composer. As elegant chassés-croisés and duos evoke his happy childhood, the salons hosted by Mendelssohn, and his close relationship with Goethe, uncover one of the keys to this life of poise: the symbiotic relation between the composer and his sister Fanny, also a great composer.

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy composer

Claudel String Quartet

Movie director : Lorne Brass

Duration : 52 min
Production date : 2001
Production : © Ciné Qua Non Films
Available version(s) : EN

Comments on Felix Mendelssohn, Requiem for Fanny :