Enas – Marcia Haydée

Vangelis Papathanassiou – Birgit Keiln, Richard Cragun

"Enas," or Αἰνείας – the Greek word for "being one" – is interpreted in this ballet, which represents Marcia Haydée's first free choreography. Music by Vangelis Papathanassiou.

After studying with several masters like que Vaslav Veltchek, Tatiana Leskova and Olga Preobrajenska, Marcia Haydée joins the Royal Ballet School of Londres, the Grand Ballet du Marquis de Cuevas in 1957 and the Stuttgart Ballet in 1961 where she is named prima ballerina in 1962. She leads an outstanding career and becomes the artistic director of the Stuttgart Ballet from 1976 to 1996. During that period of time, she also reveals her talent as a choreographer with pieces like Sleeping Beauty (1987) and ENAS (1987), created for Birgit Keil and Richard Cragun. She is one of the greatest dancers of her generation and performed numerous roles in her mentor John Cranko’s creations, such as Romeo and Juliet (1962), Onéguine (1965), The Taming of the Shrew (1969), Présence (1968), Carmen (1971), Initialen R.B.M.E. (1971) et Spuren (1973).

She associates with prestigious partners like Rudolf Noureev, Mikhaïl Barychnikov, Anthony Dowell and Jorge Donn and obtains during her career numerous distinctions such as the title of doctor honoris causa by the university of Stuttgart and the title of professor by the president of the council of the state of Baden-Württemberg.

Marcia Haydée choreography

Vangelis Papathanassiou composer

Irene Papas singer

Birgit Keil dancer
Richard Cragun dancer

Movie director : Jean-Christophe Blavier
Collection : The Contemporary Ballet Scene
Music genre : Ballet

Duration : 28 min
Location : Odeon of Herod Atticus (Athens, Greece)
Production : © SDR / EuroArtsMusic International / brilliant media

Comments on Enas – Marcia Haydée :