Mariss Jansons and Hilary Hahn perform Shostakovich

Berliner Philharmoniker

The Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra proves once again its incomparable sound.

In the stunning Suntary Hall of Tokyo, Mariss Jansons displays Mendelssohn's enchantment with the Oberon Ouverture. Bare handed the conductor creates a miracle in this first romantic oscillating between orchestral virtuosity and evocations of the unreal.

Bearing both elegance and sobriety the violinist Hilary Hahn reveals the works of Shostakovich with an ease for complexities. The young violinist creates a lyrical enchantment of Shostakovich's work through the grace of her sonorities and build it into a resolutely modern and committed work. Known for the homogeneity of its chords and its unrivalled sense of cohesion, the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra brings back the Slavic charm with Dvorak Eight symphony. May it be rhythmic energy, melancholy or romantic reverie, all dimensions of Dvorak's work find an echo under the baton of Mariss Jansons.

Movie director : Schoichi Nisikawa
Playlists : Russian music, The Great Violinists, The musical life in USRR
Musical period : Music from the 20th century
Music genre : Orchestral music
Musical forms : Concerto, Symphony

Duration : 01 h 39 min
Production date : 2000
Production : © EuroArts

Comments on Mariss Jansons and Hilary Hahn perform Shostakovich :