Vladimir Ashkenazy conducts Sibelius and Schumann

Chamber orchestra of Europe

Vladimir Ashkenazy performs the suite composed in 1911 by Jean Sibelius, Rakastava (The Lover), inspired by texts from the Finnish Romantic period.

The second part of the programme presents Schumann's Symphony No. 2 in C Major premiered in 1846 by Mendelssohn. This work became then Tchaikovsky and Brahms' favourite.

Linked event :

Broadcast date : Dec. 19, 2008, 8 p.m.

Movie director : Bruno Monsaingeon
Playlist : Literature and Music
Music genre : Orchestral music
Musical forms : Symphony, Orchestral Suite

Duration : 50 min
Location : Philharmonie de Paris – Philharmonie 2 (former Cité de la musique) (Paris, France)
Production date : 2009
Production : © Idéale Audience

Comments on Vladimir Ashkenazy conducts Sibelius and Schumann :