Martha Argerich, Menahem Pressler, Nikolai Lugansky, Gautier Capuçon, Daniel Harding
Verbier Festival 2010

Three exceptional concerts at the 2010 Verbier Festival

Shostakovitch’s Concerto is misleadingly entitled “for trumpet and piano” as it is really a piano concerto with an important part for the solo trumpet. The work was premiered in 1933 with the composer at the piano and the Leningrad Philharmonic. Throughout the work both Shostakovich’s lyrical and sarcastic vein are full in play, the latter especially in the trumpet’s “interruptions”. It is beautifully performed by Gábor Takács-Nagy conducting the Verbier Festival Chamber orchestra, with Martha Argerich on the piano and David Guerrier on the trumpet.

Prokofiev’s Overture on a Hebrew theme is performed by Nikolaï Luganksy, Daniel Hope, Vilde Frang, Gautier Capuçon, David Aaron Carpenter and Alexander Bedenko. The work is a single movement where two contrasting moods pervade: one, introduced by the slightly ominous opening C minor tune, the second, a more lyrical, nostalgic idea.

Finally, Menahem Pressler and Daniel Harding lead the Verbier Festival Orchestra to a fantastic rendition of Mozart’s Piano concerto No. 17 in G major, KV 453.

Linked event :

Movie directors : Anaïs Spiro, Pierre-Martin Juban
Playlists : Verbier Festival, Menahem Pressler – 90, The most beautiful programs in HD
Music genre : Orchestral music
Musical forms : Concerto, Symphony

Duration : 44 min
Location : Verbier Festival (Verbier, Switzerland)
Production date : 2010
Production : © Idéale Audience / Museec / Arte France